Memoir

As a literary genre, a memoir (from the French: mémoire from the Latin memoria, meaning "memory", or a reminiscence), forms a subclass of autobiography – although the terms 'memoir' and 'autobiography' are almost interchangeable in modern parlance. Memoir is autobiographical writing, but not all autobiographical writing follows the criteria for memoir.

Memoirs are structured differently from formal autobiographies which tend to encompass the writer's entire life span, focusing on the development of his/her personality. The chronological scope of memoir is determined by the work's context and is
...more

Becoming
Fed Up: Emotional Labor, Women, and the Way Forward
The Wondering Years: How Pop Culture Helped Me Answer Life’s Biggest Questions
Let's Go (So We Can Get Back): A Memoir of Recording and Discording with Wilco, Etc.
Two Minus One: A Memoir
About My Mother... True Stories of a Horse-Crazy Daughter and Her Baseball-Obsessed Mother
Brutally Honest
Autism in Heels: The Untold Story of a Female Life on the Spectrum
Congratulations, Who Are You Again?
My Butch Career: A Memoir
All You Can Ever Know: A Memoir
This Will Only Hurt a Little
The Greatest Love Story Ever Told
Heavy: An American Memoir
My Squirrel Days
  • Inheritance by Dani Shapiro
    Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love
    by
    Release date: Jan 15, 2019
    The acclaimed and beloved author of Hourglass now gives us a new memoir about identity, paternity, and family secrets—a real-time exploration of the s ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 1141 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Dec 15 - Jan 14, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Little Boy by Lawrence Ferlinghetti
    Little Boy
    by
    Release date: Mar 19, 2019
    From the famed publisher and poet, author of the million-copy-selling collection A Coney Island of the Mind, his literary last will and testament -- p ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 15 copies available, 504 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Dec 15 - Jan 14, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Once More We Saw Stars by Jayson Greene
    Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir
    by
    Release date: May 14, 2019
    For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake o ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 20 copies available, 413 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Dec 15 - Jan 14, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Becoming
    Educated
    Girl, Wash Your Face: Stop Believing the Lies about Who You Are So You Can Become Who You Were Meant to Be
    When Breath Becomes Air
    The Magnolia Story
    This Is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor
    Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood
    Calypso
    The Last Black Unicorn
    This Will Only Hurt a Little
    Whiskey in a Teacup: What Growing Up in the South Taught Me About Life, Love & Baking Biscuits
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Spilled Milk
    Hey, Kiddo
    In Pieces
    Blood River by Tim ButcherThe Trigger by Tim ButcherChasing the Devil by Tim ButcherA Walk in the Woods by Bill BrysonEat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
    Best Memoirs/Autobiography/Travel
    689 books — 774 voters
    The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne FrankNight by Elie WieselBeing and Time by Martin HeideggerHiroshima by John HerseyBlood River by Tim Butcher
    Must Read Non-Fiction
    2,178 books — 2,365 voters

    The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne FrankThe Glass Castle by Jeannette WallsNight by Elie WieselAngela's Ashes by Frank McCourtEat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
    Best Memoir / Biography / Autobiography
    4,306 books — 4,715 voters
    Blood River by Tim ButcherThings Fall Apart by Chinua AchebeThe Poisonwood Bible by Barbara KingsolverChasing the Devil by Tim ButcherHalf of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
    Africa (fiction and nonfiction)
    1,389 books — 1,489 voters

    The Bell Jar by Sylvia PlathGirl, Interrupted by Susanna KaysenThe Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories by Charlotte Perkins GilmanProzac Nation by Elizabeth WurtzelThe Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
    Women and Mental Illness
    748 books — 1,790 voters

    The Glass Castle
    Bossypants
    Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
    Eat, Pray, Love
    The Diary of a Young Girl
    Yes Please
    Night (The Night Trilogy, #1)
    Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Angela's Ashes (Frank McCourt, #1)
    When Breath Becomes Air
    Running with Scissors
    Me Talk Pretty One Day
    Educated
    Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood

    Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich

    Author of The Fact of a Body

    Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich is the author of THE FACT OF A BODY: A Murder and a Memoir, which will be published by Flatiron Books (Macmillan) in May 2017. It is also forthcoming from publishers internationally. A National Endowment for the Arts fellow and Rona Jaffe Award recipient, she has twice been a fellow at both MacDowell and Yaddo. Her essays appear in The New York Times, Oxford American, Iowa Review, and many other publications, and were recognized “notable” in Best American Essays 2013, 2015, and 2016.

    Ask a Question

    More Featured Authors Taking Questions…
    Laura Miller
    Laura Miller The Magician's Book: A Skeptic's Adventures in Narnia
    Her Favorite Books for Adults who Love Narnia: Miller tells Goodreads, "Here are five suggestions for people who spent their childhoods peeking hopefully into wardrobes."
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    Gail Caldwell
    I know now that we never get over great losses; we absorb them, and they carve us into different, often kinder, creatures. ...We tell the story to get them back, to capture the traces of footfalls through the snow.
    Gail Caldwell, Let's Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship

    Carol Tavris
    History is written by the victors, but it's victims who write the memoirs.
    Carol Tavris, Mistakes Were Made (But Not by Me): Why We Justify Foolish Beliefs, Bad Decisions, and Hurtful Acts

    More quotes...
    Beyond the Book invites members to vote in a monthly "Theme Poll" where the genre or theme is fi…more

    4 members, last active 3 months ago

    The Curiousity Club Hosted by Loran from Youtube's Inked with Curiousity! This is a book club dedicated to stepping…more

    10 members, last active 3 days ago

    Oprah's Book Club (Official) Welcome to the official Oprah's Book Club group. OBC is the interactive, multi-platform reading…more

    33,645 members, last active 13 hours ago

    This is group is for members of the Memoir Incubator community. We're here to share the books we…more

    3 members, last active 49 days ago

    SINGING IN THE RAIN
    1 chapters — updated Dec 31, 2011 05:32AM — 2 people liked it
    Leave the Light On: A Memoir of Recovery and Self-Discovery
    1 chapters — updated Mar 30, 2010 01:33AM — 6 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: memoir and memoirs